Alfred Hauptmann Award

The Alfred Hauptmann Award is bestowed together with the German and Austrian epileptology associations. It goes to individuals or working groups in German-speaking countries for the best experimental or clinical research publication in the field of epileptology. It is awarded every two years.

The Award now comes with prize money of €20,000. Half the prize money will be awarded to the author of a basic research document that has been published, while the other half will be awarded in the field of clinical research.

Submissions should be works written in English or German that have been published or accepted for publication. They should be accompanied by

  • the applicant’s/applicants’ curriculum vitae,
  • a comment from the chair of the applicant’s home clinic/institution,
  • where there are several authors, an indication of the degree of involvement of each author and
  • the information for which category the entry applies.


    The email address for applications is: .

    More information in German

    The award is named after the German neurologist Alfred Hauptmann, who discovered the anticonvulsant efficacy of phenobarbital in 1912 and had to emigrate from Germany in 1933 because of his Jewish origins.

  • Laureates 2021

    Dr. Maxime Baud (Bern) and Dr. Timothée Proix (Genève)

    Laureates 2019

    Dr. Johannes Lang, Erlangen, Prof. Dr. Karel Kostev, Frankfurt, and Prof. Dr. Hajo M. Hamer, Erlangen

    Press release (in German)

    Laureates 2017

    Gian Marco De Marchis, Basel (Foto) and Deborah Pugin, Geneva as well as

    Carola Haas, Freiburg i.Br.


    Other laureates


    Anne-Sophie Wendling and Bernhard J. Steinhoff, Kehl-Kork


    Yvonne Weber, Tübingen


    Ingmar Blümcke, Erlangen as well as Claudia Brandt, Hannover


    Hans-Jürgen Huppertz, Zürich; Jörg Wellmer, Bonn; Anke Maren Staack, Kehl-Kork; Dirk-Matthias Altenmüller, Freiburg; Horst Urbach, Bonn; Judith Kröll-Seger, Zürich


    Christoph Hübner, Jena


    Ying Wang-Tilz, Christian Tilz, Elisabeth Pauli and Hermann Stefan, Erlangen


    Christian Bien, Bonn as well as Ulrich Ebert, Hannover


    Heinz Beck, Bonn as well as Alois Ebner, Bethel-Bielefeld and Hennric Jokeit, Zürich


    Ortrud Steinlein, Bonn and Thomas J. Jentsch, Hamburg as well as
    Rüdiger Köhling, Anne Lücke and Heidrun Straub, Münster


    Claus Brühl und Otto W. Witte, Düsseldorf as well as Christoph Helmstaedter, Bonn


    Rainer Wolf, Franz Strehle and Hinderk M. Emrich, Hannover


    Hermann Stefan, Peter Schüler, Cornelia Hummel, Klaus Abraham-Fuchs and Siegfried Schneider; Erlangen as well as Andreas Bayer, München


    Andreas Hufnagel, Christian E. Elger, Dieter-Karsten Böker, Detlef B. Linke, Martin Kurthen and Laszio Solymosi, Bonn


    Uwe Heinemann, Köln and Istvan Mody, München as well as Jörg Walden and Otto W. Witte, Münster


    Hans-Dieter Oldigs, Kiel


    Christin E. Elger and Erwin-Josef Speckmann, Münster as well as Dieter Schmidt, Berlin


    no award


    Hans-Hasso Frey and Wolfgang Löscher, Berlin as well as Helmut Fichsel, Bonn