Barbara Tetten­born has been elected as the new presi­dent of the Swiss League Against Epilepsy. The election took place by post due to the pandemic.

12 May 2020

The Swiss League Against Epilepsy has its first female presi­dent: Prof. Dr. Barbara Tetten­born from St. Gallen was elected as the successor to Prof. Dr. Stephan Rüegg. Like her prede­cessor and Vice Presi­dent Prof. Dr. Andrea Rossetti, who remains in office, she is a neurol­o­gist special­izing in epilepsy. All positions on the Epilepsy League board are volun­tary and unpaid. As the AGM had to be postponed due to the coron­avirus pandemic, the members of the Epilepsy League, numbering around 800, were given the oppor­tu­nity to cast their vote by post.

Barbara Tetten­born has been an active member of the Epilepsy League since 1999. She is chairman and head of the Depart­ment of Neurology at Kanton­sspital St. Gallen and is also a top-level triathlete.

Commenting on her election, her prede­cessor Stephan Rüegg said, “I am delighted to be able to pass over the baton to an extremely successful and proac­tive epilepsy specialist who is also an excel­lent team player. Her election means that the Swiss League Against Epilepsy has a female presi­dent at long last, Eastern Switzer­land, which has sometimes been under-represented, will have a stronger voice, and – most impor­tantly, we have someone at our helm who is both outstanding and well qualified.”

Three further new members were elected to the Epilepsy League board:

  • PD Dr. med. Martinus Hauf, head physi­cian and head of epilep­tology at Klinik Bethesda in Tschugg
  • Prof. Dr. med. Martin Kurthen, senior physi­cian and deputy medical director at the Swiss Epilepsy Clinic (Klinik Lengg) in Zurich
  • PD Dr. Dr. med. Frédéric Zubler, senior physi­cian at the Sleep-Wake-Epilepsy Centre (SWEZ) at the Univer­sity Hospital (Insel­spital) in Berne.

In accor­dance with the statutes of the Epilepsy League passed in 2016 and of his own accord, Stephan Rüegg stood down after four years as presi­dent and will remain on the board as a past presi­dent until the next board elections. Rüegg is head of EEG labora­to­ries and epilep­tology in the depart­ment for Clinical Neuro­phys­i­ology at Basel Univer­sity Hospital.

Prof. Dr. Dr. Thomas Grunwald (Zurich), Dr. Anna Marie Hew-Winzeler (Zurich), Dr. Klaus Meyer (Tschugg) and Prof. Dr. Dr. Kaspar A. Schindler (Berne) did not put themselves forward for reelection.

The European Congress on Epilep­tology, due to be held in Switzer­land for the first time, has also had to be postponed due to the coron­avirus pandemic. It is likely to be held on the next sched­uled congress date in summer 2022.

The new board of the Swiss Epilepsy League

Infor­ma­tion on coron­avirus and epilepsy

Latest annual report: German / French

14th European Congress on Epilep­tology (ECE)